Awards We Have Presented

The Potomac Heritage Trail Association presents four annual awards for helping make the Trail a reality. The awards are the "Volunteer Of The Year Award", "Trail Group Of The Year Award", "Agency Recognition Award" and "Phil Ogilvie Award". We are pleased to acknowledge the following past award winners.

Lifetime Achievement Award

2015 Ed Pickens For 20 years of trail stewardship on Potomac Heritage Trail, Cross County Trail, Pimmit Run Trail; mentored 30+ Eagle Scout projects on these trails

Volunteer Of The Year Award

2012 Rhonda Krafchin For her work with REI's Outdoor Volunteer Program on many trail-building events on the PHNST
2010 Ed Pickens For his work with Boy Scout Troops in the design and construction of wooden bridges on the Potomac Heritage Trail.
2006 David Brickley For advancing the Dahlgren Heritage Rail Trail.
2005 Carl Linden For playing a lead role in the restoration of the historic Monocacy Aqueduct, largest on the C&O.
2004 Donna Edwards and Bonnie Bick For Riverside alignment of PHT at National Harbor.
2003 Mark Holt For his efforts on trails along Piscataway Bay, Prince George’s Co.

Trail Group of the Year Award

2015 Friends of the Dahlgren Railroad Heritage Trail For completing the trail, advocating and publicizing it
2015 Sierra Club Potomac Region Outings For sponsoring multiple hiking events on the Potomac Heritage Trail, Cross County Trail, and many other trails.
2015 Garrett County Trails For advocating a rich network of trails in Garrett County, MD, linking to the C&O Canal and Great Allegheny Passage sections of the Potomac Heritage Trail
2012 Prince William Trails&Streams Coal For creating 4 miles of new segments of PHNST in Woodbridge, VA
2010 Great Falls Trail Blazers For their ongoing efforts to maintain and improve the Potomac Heritage Trail in Great Falls, VA.
2008 C&O Canal Trust For spearheading efforts to repair the damage to the towpath from Hurricane Hanna.
2006 C&O Canal Association For the new Widewater boardwalk and the restored historic canal boat at Great Falls, MD.
2005 Allegheny Highlands Trail of Maryland Association For completion of a 6-mile section from Frostburg to Woodcock Hollow, and for ensuring completion of the remaining 6 miles to Cumberland.
2004 American Hiking Society (D Lillard, E. Talone, M.M. Sloan) For publishing a Draft Hikers Guide to the PHNST Corridor.
2003 Washington Parks and People For reclamation of forgotten parks in DC and sponsorship of the annual Washington Ridge Walk.

Agency Recognition Award

2015 Debbie Spiliotopoulis For her No. Va. Regional Commission of developing the Corridor Analysis of the Potomac Heritage Trail in Loudoun, Fairfax and Prince William counties.
2012 Don Briggs, National Park Service For his role as Superintendent of the PHNST
2010 Supervisor Frank Principi of Prince William County For his unstinting support for the development of the Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail in the Woodbridge District of Prince William County.
2008 Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority For designating 8 miles of the PHNST in Great Falls, VA.
2006 Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority For energetic trail leadership on many fronts under its new executive director, Paul Gilbert.
2005 Mark Novak (Loudoun Co. Parks, Recreation and Community Services) For working tirelessly for over five years to assure a scenic route for the PHNST at Lansdowne with a wide a scenic corridor along the river
2004 Maryland Office of Planning For Allegheny Highlands Trail construction, Frostburg MD to PA line.
2003 Pennsylvania DCNR and Maryland DNR For helping certify Great Allegheny Passage as part of the PHNST.

Phil Ogilvie Award

For excellence in fostering public appreciation of the Potomac River

2012 Alice Ferguson For annual litter cleanups of the Potomac and its tributaries every April
2010 Representative Gerry Connolly For his legislative initiatives in the protection of the Chesapeake Bay, and in providing tax credits for individuals contributing easesments for the completion of National Scenic Trails.
2008 Robin Rentsch For 30 years of advocating for environmental and trail issues in the Potomac watershed.
2006 Paul Elliott For leading numerous hikes to promote new segments of PHNST, and for his trail guidebooks.
2005 Potomac Conservancy For their many years of dedication to the goal of preserving open space in the Potomac River watershed.
2004 Kristen Lamoureux For the development of a Web-based interactive guide to the PHNST.
2003 Mike High For publication of the C&O Canal Companion.

Special Recognition

Trail Champion Award

2008 Gerry Connolly, Chairman of the Fairfax Co Board of Supervisors For over a decade he has done more than any other public official in Northern Virginia to fund and promote trails. He has always been there when a trail project needs an advocate.